SLACPT NEWS

Newsletter of the Sri Lanka Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics

2015 Volume 1 Issue 1

Message from the President, SLACPT



As the founder president of the Sri Lanka Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (SLACPT) I am pleased to send this brief message to our first newsletter. Our Association was started just a few weeks ago and we have a lot of work for the future. Establishing the Association and putting the procedures in place has to be done. One of the priorities would be to canvass for membership. Academic activities need to be planned. All this can only be done by a team, and I am sure that our Council will fulfil the role of that team. I am grateful to the Editor for working hard to release this newsletter. Constructive suggestions towards improving the image of the Association and the newsletter is welcome.

Professor R. L. Jayakody

President/SLACPT July 29, 2015

Write to us!



SLACPT welcomes suggestions from members towards improving the image of the Association and the newsletter. Please send your suggestions to

Email: office@pharm.cmb.ac.lk

Sri Lanka Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Sri Lanka Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (SLACPT) was formed by a group of Clinical Pharmacologists to promote and advance the disciplines of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics in Sri Lanka.

The objects of SLACPT are:

- 1. To promote best practices in using medicines in patient care in line with international standards, while being sensitive to the local situation
- 2. To advance knowledge, promote research and disseminate knowledge in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
- 3. To promote educational activities on Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics towards the members of the medical profession, related fields and the public
- 4. To represent the field of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics in Sri Lanka and overseas
- 5. To promote undergraduate and postgraduate education in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
- 6. To advice on medicines policy and regulation of pharmaceuticals in Sri Lanka
- 7. To promote fellowship among members

SLACPT's vision is to be the opinion leader in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (CPT) in Sri Lanka.

Membership of SLACPT is open to any person who has an interest in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and fulfils the following criteria.

- An M.B.B.S. or equivalent basic medical qualification with full registration in the Sri Lanka Medical Council (SLMC) under Section 29

OR

- Any other related qualification acceptable to the Council of the Association, to be decided on an individual basis

The membership categories are Full, Associate and Ordinary.

Student membership is available for any person with an interest in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics who is an undergraduate of an M.B.B.S programme in a university recognized by the SLMC OR an M.B.B.S. qualified graduate of such a programme without full registration in the SLMC.

The activities of SLACPT will be coordinated by a Council, elected from among its members.

The Annual General Meeting of the SLACPT will be held every year. The Inaugural General Meeting was held on 11th June 2015 were the constitution was adopted and the first council was elected from those present.

Inaugural General Meeting, SLACPT June 2015







Council of SLACPT

Ρ	re	si	d	er	١t

Professor R. L. Jayakody

President Elect

Emeritus Professor Gita Fernando

Vice-president

Professor Rohini Fernandopulle

Secretary

Professor P. Galappatthy

Treasurer

Dr. Nirmala Wijekoon

Social secretary

Professor Menik Hettihewa

Editor

Dr. Chandanie Wanigatunge

Assistant secretary

Dr. Chiranthi K Liyanage

Assistant treasurer

Dr. Chamila Mettananda

Council members

Dr. Krisantha Weerasuriya Professor Kusum De Abrew Professor Asita de Silva

Professor S. Sri Ranganathan Professor Sisira Siribaddana

Dr. Nanada Amarasekara

Dr. Sarath Gamini De Silva

Dr. Pradeepa Jayawardena

Dr. Janake Munasinghe

Dr. T. S. Navaratinarajah

Dr. J Nanayakkara

Dr. Channa Ranasinghe

Membership categories of SLACPT

Full members

Any person who meets the basic criteria and has qualifications of MD with Board Certification OR offered privileges of Board Certification by the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine, University of Colombo OR Membership of the Royal College of Physicians (MRCP) OR Membership of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (MRCPCH) with Certificate of Completion of Specialty Training (CCST) OR Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians (FRCP) OR PhD in pharmacology or a related discipline are eligible for Full membership.

Associate members

Any person who meets the basic criteria and is pursuing a career in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics OR in a postgraduate programme of study leading to a MD/PhD OR holds a MPhil/MSc in pharmacology or a related field and do not fulfil the criteria for Full membership are eligible for Associate membership.

Ordinary members

Any person who meets the basic criteria but does not meet the requirements for Full or Associate membership are eligible for Ordinary membership.

Student membership

Any person with an interest in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics who is an undergraduate of an M.B.B.S programme in a university recognized by the SLMC OR an M.B.B.S. qualified graduate of such a programme without full registration in the SLMC.

Full members

Professor Rohini Fernandopulle Dr. Chandanie Wanigatunge

Dr. Krisantha Weerasuriya

Dr. Chandrani Nirmala Wijekoon

Dr. K C D Mettananda Professor Menik Hettihewa

Dr. Gayani Liyanage

Dr. Jeewantha Nanayakkara

Dr Nuwan Prasad Premawardena

Professor Gita Fernando Dr T S Navaratinaraja

Professor P Galappatthy

Associate members

Dr. Roshini Murugupillai Dr Priyanga Ranasinghe Dr Chiranthi K Liyanage

Dr K Sanchayan

Professor R L Jayakody Professor S Sri Ranganathan

Professor K de Abrew

Dr. S A Fernando Kurukulasuriya

Dr. Channa Jayasumana Professor S Siribaddana Dr. Devarajan Rathish Dr. Dhammika de Silva

Dr. S Anantharajah

Dr. A.K.Pathirana Dr. G .J. Pratheepan

Dr. E Wijewickrama

Ordinary members

Dr. S A Jayaratne Dr Ashwini de Abrew

Dr. W.P. Harshula Abeydeera

Dr. Yalini Guruparan

Dr. Isuru Amarasinghe

Proposed activities of SLACPT

SLACPT plans to conduct a **short course in Basic Pharmacology for Clinicians**. The aim of this course is to provide doctors who are preparing for selection examinations, MD Part 1(Medicine, Oncology) etc at the Postgraduate Institute of Medicine and other Institutions and those who are working in different settings the key concepts and principles of clinical pharmacology to bridge the gaps and voids in their knowledge on basic pharmacology.

The course will be conducted over 5 weekends. Each session will consist of 4 - 5 hours of teaching learning activities and would include discussion of MCQs on each topic.

Topics covered includes:

Pharmacokinetics
Pharmacodynamics
Preclinical studies and evaluation of new drugs in humans
Drugs and the Liver and Kidneys
Prescribing in Pregnancy/lactation
Prescribing in Children/elderly
Adverse drug reactions/drug interactions
Case histories on evidence based rational prescribing
Pharmacogenetics
Therapeutic drug monitoring

Inaugural meeting of SLACPT

Date: 3rd October 2015

Time: 6.30 pm

Venue: New Building Auditorium, Faculty of Medicine, Colombo

Chief Guest: Dr Jacob Kumaresan, WHO Representative, Sri Lanka

Guest of Honour: Prof Andrew Dawson

All members are welcome.